0 Cricket groundsman trio honoured at Lord’s

Cricket groundsman trio honoured at Lord's

Three groundsmen were honoured this week at the home of English cricket as they each received a Cricket World & Pitchcare Cricket Groundsman of the Year Award for 2004.

The awards, now in their second year, recognise the hard work and high standards achieved by cricket groundsmen in the recreational game and are split into three categories - educational establishment, private club and local authority.

Treble the nominations were received for this year's awards compared to last year through the Cricket World magazine, and the www.cricketworld.com and Pitchcare websites. Judging of the shortlisted entries took place during March at locations as far apart as Newcastle and Jersey and was carried out by Pitchcare's Dave Saltman and Laurence Gale.

The presentations were made to Keith Exton, Chris Westbrook and Ian le Marquand by ECB Pitches Consultant Chris Wood in the presence of sponsors and invited guests. The winners then enjoyed lunch at the Lord's Tavern before taking their Executive Box seats in the grandstand to enjoy the afternoon's play between Middlesex and Nottinghamshire.

Alastair Symondson, Editor of Cricket World magazine, the Pitchcare judges and Chris Wood all expressed their admiration for the winning groundsmen and thanked the sponsors whose continuing support makes the awards possible.

Entries are now being invited for the 2005 awards. For further information or to make your nomination visit www.cricketworld.com or www.pitchcare.com.

Photo: (L to R) Keith Exton (Educational establishment), Chris Westbrook (Private Club) and Ian le Marquand (Local Authority) receiving their Cricket Groundsman of the Year certificates from ECB Pitches Consultant Chris Wood at Lord's.

Details of shortlisted entries:

Local Authority

Winner - Ian le Marquand (FB Playing Fields States of Jersey LA)

Second - Ian Vaultier (Granville Sports Grounds States of Jersey LA)

Third - Wayne Lumbard (Shrewsbury & Atcham LA)

Private Club

Winner - Chris Westbrook (Hursley Park CC)

Second - Michael Carruthers (Bromley CC)

Third - Dave Fouracre ( Exmouth CC)

Educational establishment

Winner - Keith Exton (Oakham School)

Second - Mike Kettle (Repton School)

Third - Matt Pullen (Whitgift School)

Highly Commended - Owen de Gruchy (Victoria College)

Community Award

Winner - William Radcliffe & Noel McCraey - Saintfield CC, Belfast.

Highly Commended:

Graham Newell (Elmswell CC)

Dineash Odedera (Bharat Sports CC)

Nigel Salmon (Woodall Spa CC)

Paul Emmanuel (Ripley CC)

Neil Lambourne (Aston Rowant CC)

Gerry Candy (Burridge CC)

Gareth Jenkins (Abergavenny CC)

Editorial Enquiries Editorial Enquiries

Contact Kerry Haywood

07973 394037

Subscribe to the Pitchcare Magazine Subscribe to the Pitchcare Magazine

You can have each and every copy of the Pitchcare magazine delivered direct to your door for just £30 a year.