0 Groundsman of the Year awards held at St. George's Park

FAAwardsBristol Rovers' Eric Kingscott was the big winner at St. George's Park as a number of groundsmen at non-league level were honoured.

Eric was named the Football Conference Groundsman of the Year for 2015 at the event last week.

Eric's work at the Memorial Stadium undoubtedly played a big part in supporting the team and helping them to achieve their goal of promotion back to the Football League.

Numerous other groundsmen received recognition for the quality of their pitches up and down the country as a host of other individuals were rewarded for their work lower down the football pyramid.

Further winners from around the leagues were Peter Temmen (Nantwich Town FC), Kevin Sturmey (Taunton Town FC), Simon Rudkins (Hastings United FC), Rodney Neale (Shepton Mallet FC) and Lee Watson (Clay Cross Town FC).

The winners were voted for by six judges who are all professional groundsmen across the country.

The winners will also be special guests at Wembley for the England v Estonia match on Friday 9 October 2015.

TheSixWinnersThe Football Conference Award
Winner: Eric Kingscott (Bristol Rovers)
Runner-up: Gareth Morgan (Barrow AFC)
Third place: Andy Nunn (Aldershot Town)

Northern Premier League Award
Winner: Peter Temmen (Nantwich Town)
Runner-up: Michael Grimmer (Stocksbridge Park Steels)
Third Place: Kris Nurse (Loughborough Dynamo)

Southern League Award
Winner: Kevin Sturmey (Taunton Town)
Runner-up: Nigel Gregg (Evesham United)
Third Place: Trevor Diaper (Sholing)

Isthmian League Award
Winner: Simon Rudkins (Hastings United)
Runner-up: David Blaszkowski (Leatherhead)
Third place: Colin Powell (VCD Athletic)

National Award 3 and 4
Winner: Simon Rudkins (Hastings United)
Runner-up: Kevin Sturmey (Taunton Town)
Third place: Nigel Gregg (Evesham United)

National Award 5 and 6
Winner: Rodney Neale (Shepton Mallet)
Runner-up: Marcus Pound (AFC Emley)
Joint third place: Terry Homer (Brocton)
Joint third place: Niall Gibb (Blackfield and Langley)

National Award 7 and below
Winner: Lee Watson (Clay Cross Town)
Runner-up: Adam Witchell (Bassett Bulldogs)
Third place: Danny Mahoney (Longsands Lynx)


Editorial Enquiries Editorial Enquiries

Contact Kerry Haywood

07973 394037

Subscribe to the Pitchcare Magazine Subscribe to the Pitchcare Magazine

You can have each and every copy of the Pitchcare magazine delivered direct to your door for just £30 a year.