0 Nominate your Groundsman

Groundsman of the Year Awards 2005

By Emma Clark

Nominations are now being received for the FA's Groundsman of the Year Awards.

The aim of the Awards is to recognise the important contribution made by these unsung heroes and encourage the development of Groundsmanship at the grass roots level of the game. The Awards are open to all clubs at Conference and below as well as Local Authorities. This year the categories have been revised in line with league restructuring. The National Winners receive an overseas weekend for two as well as a trophy.

The 5 categories are:

Clubs at Step 1 and 2 (Conference and Conference North & South)

Clubs at Step 3 and 4 (Northern Premier, Isthmian and Southern Premier and 1st Divisions)

Clubs at Step 5 and 6

Clubs at Step 7 and Below

Local Authorities

If you would like to nominate your club Groundsman (Step 5 or below) or Local Authority, please download an application from the FA Website at http://www.thefa.com/Grassroots/FacilityDevelopment/LatestNews/Postings/2004/11/GroundsmenOfTheYear_2005.htm and return to your local County FA by Friday 10th

The County FA will nominate their winners for our Regional Awards which are judged by members of the Institute of Groundsmanship. All County winners will be invited to the relevant Award ceremony in April when the Regional winner is announced. The Regional winner will then go forward to compete for the National Awards which are presented in September at our National Event.

Clubs at Steps 1-4 should contact their League Secretary for details of how they can enter. The winners of these categories are also presented at the National Awards ceremony.

Editorial Enquiries Editorial Enquiries

Contact Kerry Haywood

07973 394037

Subscribe to the Pitchcare Magazine Subscribe to the Pitchcare Magazine

You can have each and every copy of the Pitchcare magazine delivered direct to your door for just £30 a year.