0 RFL Groundsperson of the Year award 2009


The Rugby Football League has opened nominations for the annual Groundsperson of the Year Award which aims to recognise and reward the efforts of men and women whose hard work behind the scene contributes so much to the game of Rugby League.

Now in its sixth successive year, the award will once again be presented in memory of Brian Cartwright, a great servant to the game of Rugby League and honorary Groundsman to the RFL for over 20 years.

The award is not intended to reflect the best pitch or most expensive equipment, but to reward those Groundsman that are unsung heroes who put effort in above and beyond the call of duty.

Dean Hardman, RFL Operations Manager, said: "The award is intended to reward the unsung heroes who work so hard behind the scenes to ensure a surface that lives up to excitement of the Rugby League game. The Brian Cartwright Trophy goes towards recognising individuals who take great pride in their work, a lot of which that goes unseen."

Last year's winner was Hull KR's Malcolm Taylor.

Previous winners of the RFL's Groundsperson of the Year are:

2004: Brian Mossop, Whitehaven

2005: Graham Osbourne, Halifax

2006: Dave Lewis, Widnes

2007: Jason Booth, Leeds Rhinos

2008: Malcolm Taylor, Hull KR

Nomination forms are available from the RFL by e-mailing Dean.Hardman@rfl.uk.com and the deadline for entries is 21 August.

The presentation to the winner of the Groundsperson of the Year Award will be made at the Galpharm Stadium on 7 November before the Gillette Four Nations match between England and New Zealand.

If you have any queries regarding the Award or the nomination process please contact Dean Hardman on 0113 237 5041.

Editorial Enquiries Editorial Enquiries

Contact Kerry Haywood

07973 394037

Subscribe to the Pitchcare Magazine Subscribe to the Pitchcare Magazine

You can have each and every copy of the Pitchcare magazine delivered direct to your door for just £30 a year.