0 RFL Groundsperson of the Year Award

RFL-WEB.jpgThe Rugby Football League has announced that it is seeking nominations for the 2007 Groundsperson of the year award.

As the labours of the men and women whose efforts in maintaining the sport's playing surfaces often goes unnoticed and unappreciated the RFL is keen to recognise this hard work.

Dean Hardman, RFL Operations Manager, said: "The award is not judged solely on the provision of a top quality playing surface. It is also intended to reward those groundspeople who put in effort above and beyond the call of duty.

"The award is designed to reward those who take pride in their work, who have great attention to detail and demonstrate a positive approach towards their work particularly in difficult circumstances, whether they are dedicated club employees or volunteers."

Last year's winner was Dave Lewis, the Head Groundsperson at the Halton Stadium, Widnes.

The RFL is now seeking nominations of candidates by member clubs; the deadline for these nominations is 7 September.

These entries will then be judged by Keith Kent (Head Groundsperson at Twickenham), former Great Britain Lion Neil Holding (Anfield Grounds Person) and Ian Lacy (Head of Professional Development for the IOG). They will create a shortlist of three.

Pitchcare Magazine will subsequently visit the three short listed grounds to decide on the eventual winner.

The 2007 Groundsperson of the Year will then receive their award at half time during the Gillette Fusion Centenary International between Northern Union and All Golds on 20 October at the Halliwell Jones Stadium.

Please send nominations or any queries to dean.hardman@rfl.uk.com.

Editorial Enquiries Editorial Enquiries

Contact Kerry Haywood

07973 394037

Subscribe to the Pitchcare Magazine Subscribe to the Pitchcare Magazine

You can have each and every copy of the Pitchcare magazine delivered direct to your door for just £30 a year.