0 The IGCEMA Opens Nominations for the 2011 Edwin Budding Award

The International Golf Course Equipment Managers Association (IGCEMA) is announcing it will now be accepting nominations for the fifth annual Edwin Budding Award.
David Withers (far left) of the award sponsors, Ransomes Jacobsen, and Eric Kulaas (third from right) with representatives from IGCEMA at the presentation of the Edwin Budding Award.
Edwin Budding was a pioneer who invented the reel mower in 1830, as well as the adjustable spanner/crescent wrench. Edwin was an engineer who thought "outside the box" and created something for our industry which to this day remains a constant. Where would golf be today without the reel mower? Would we see low heights of cut? Can you imagine rotary greens mowers? While many times the invention of new golf clubs, grasses and irrigation systems seem to get a lot of attention, one thing holds true: if we didn't have the reel mower golf would not be where it is today.

The IGCEMA's Edwin Budding Award recognizes those who have made significant contributions to the golf course equipment industry, including those who have excelled in the business, history, design, engineering and maintenance of golf course equipment. The award will be in addition to those known for their contributions to innovations in the turf equipment industry. The award will recognize those who think outside the box and who have dedicated themselves to improving the industry as a whole. The Edwin Budding award will be awarded to someone in the industry who meets the criteria as set forth by the Association and the Award Committee.

The Award Committee is made up of industry leaders, and includes one Class A Member of the IGCEMA. Once nominations are sent in they will be submitted to the committee for review. We would encourage those who wish to nominate someone for this award to be very detailed in describing why you feel this individual should receive this award and what measurable attributes set this individual apart from their colleagues. Nominations should be filled out on the IGCEMA website. The deadline for nominations will be November 20th, 2011, and the winner will be presented the award at Harrogate Week in the UK during the BIGGA conference. The IGCEMA Board and Officers would like to thank all of our members around the world for their support and dedication to the industry.

Award Sponsor:
Ransomes/Jacobsen - Ipswich, UK

Who Can Nominate?

Anyone in the golf industry may nominate someone for this award. You do not have to be a member of the IGCEMA to do so.

Who Can Win?
Anyone has the opportunity to win the award. No matter where you are in the world your contributions to golf count. You do not need to be a member of the IGCEMA.

Our Previous Winners:
Vollie Carr - Product and Tournament Support Director (retired)
Eddie Konrad - Ladies Golf Club of Toronto (retired)
Ed Combest - Retired Lake City Community College Instructor
Eric Kulaas - Equipment Manager, Renaissance Vinoy Golf Resort


1. Winner's name engraved on the Edwin Budding Trophy.
2. Handsome keepsake trophy to take home.
3. Airfare and overnight accommodations to attend Harrogate Week in the United Kingdom (January 24-26, 2012) Trip itinerary TBD.

Committee Members:

Chair: Richard Comley - Director of Marketing & Product Management- Ransomes/Jacobsen
Carl Osterhaus - The Toro Company
Garry Carpenter - John Deere Golf and Turf
Stephen Bernhard - Bernhard and Company
Jim Letourneau - Foley United
Steve Spuhler - IGCEMA


Editorial Enquiries Editorial Enquiries

Contact Kerry Haywood

07973 394037

Advertise with us Advertising

Contact Peter Britton

01952 898516

Subscribe to the Pitchcare Magazine Subscribe to the Pitchcare Magazine

You can have each and every copy of the Pitchcare magazine delivered direct to your door for just £30 a year.