RFL announces shortlist for Groundsperson of the Year Award

Dean Hardmanin Rugby

The RFL has announced the nominees for the annual Groundsperson of the Year Award which aims to recognise the hard work and dedication of the
men and women who work with Rugby League's grass roots - literally!

The search has been narrowed down to a shortlist of three: Ian Forshaw (Wigan Warriors), Keith Porter (Leigh Centurions) and Malcolm Taylor

(Hull Kingston Rovers).

Keith Kent, the Head Groundsman of Twickenham Stadium who has helped draw up the shortlist, said: "It is important to acknowledge the efforts of groundstaff in providing a professional and smooth running playing
surface capable to meet the demands of Rugby League.

"The three nominees have shown versatility throughout the season, keeping the pitch in tip-top condition despite the cross-over of the football season and intense training schedules."

Now in its sixth successive year, the award will be presented in memory of Brian Cartwright, a great servant to the game of Rugby League and honorary groundsman to the RFL for over 20 years.

The award is not intended to reflect the best pitch or most expensive equipment, but to reward those who go above and beyond the call of duty.

Kent added: "Ian, Keith and Malcolm never cease to amaze me with their services to the DW Stadium, Leigh Sporting Village and Craven Park.

"Being shortlisted for the Groundsperson of the Year Award gives them the recognition they rightly deserve, and that is something they should be immensely proud of."

The presentation to the winner of the Groundsperson of the Year Award will be made at the Galpharm Stadium on Saturday November 7 before the Gillette Four Nations match between England and New Zealand.

Article Tags: