EFL has announced the winners of the Grounds Team of the Season award for 2017/18

EFLin Football

The England Football League (EFL) has announced the winners of the Grounds Team of the Season award for 2017/18 in each of the three divisions.

The awards recognise the importance of the quality of pitches for professional football and acknowledge the clubs and their ground staff who consistently produce the best playing surfaces in the EFL.

In the Sky Bet Championship, Middlesbrough win the award for producing a perfect pitch at the Riverside this season. Fulham and Nottingham Forest are both highly commended.

In Sky Bet League One, Rotherham United's ground staff take top honours for the excellent surface at the New York Stadium. Blackburn Rovers and Milton Keynes Dons are highly commended.

The award for Grounds Team of the Season in Sky Bet League Two this year goes to Wycombe Wanderers, while the ground staff of Chesterfield and Swindon Town are highly commended.


Winner - Middlesbrough

Highly Commended - Fulham

Highly Commended - Nottingham Forest

League One

Winner - Rotherham United

Highly Commended - Blackburn Rovers

Highly Commended - Milton Keynes Dons

League Two

Winner - Wycombe Wanderers

Highly Commended - Chesterfield

Highly Commended - Swindon Town

The EFL's Grounds Team of the Season Awards are determined initially using marks from referees and away managers for each Sky Bet EFL game and are then followed by detailed pitch inspections and a review of management operations.

Article Tags:
FootballIndustry news