FA Awards honour Groundsmen

Editorin Football

FA honour Groundsmen

By Dave Saltman

The second year of the National Groundsman of the Year awards ceremony took place at Saltex last Wednesday lunchtime. Over 200 guests were in attendance for a celebration of football Groundsmen at all levels of the sport. The FA's sponsor Carlsberg were in attendance as well as the guest of honour, 'Groundforce's' Tommy Walsh. Tommy entertained the audience, reminiscing about his days playing football on Hackney Marshes and more recently the charitable games that he still dons his gloves for and stands between the sticks.

A superb three course lunch was followed by the award ceremony-the list of winners follows. The awards are designed to recognise Groundsmen from the Premiership down to grass roots football. The judging this year started back in May, with Groundsmen from Premier grounds visiting clubs up and down the country. If you would like to be considered for judging, please contact your local FA to find out how to enter.

The FA Premier and Football League award winners


Premier Division- Roy Rigby, Manchester City FC. -----Overall Winner

First Division-John Calderwood, Wolverhampton Wanderers FC.

Second Division-Mike Heather, Cheltenham Town FC.

Third Division- Dave Brown, Hartlepool United FC.

The Football Conference award winners

In 1st place Rod Pippard, Yeovil Town FC.

In 2nd place Ian Manhood and George Tucker, Dagenham & Redbridge FC .

In 3rd place Barry Headley, Southport FC

National League System Level 2 Overall Award winner


In 1st place Peter Ash, Aylesbury United FC.

In 2nd placePeter Allen, Moor Green FC.

In 3rd place Ted Scraggs, Bishop's Stortford FC

Southern Football League award winners


In 1st place Peter Allen, Moor Green FC.

In 2nd place Robbie Britcher, Eastbourne Borough FC.

In 3rd placeCharles Parks , Rocester FC.

Northern Premier League award winners

In 1st place Alf Padena, Radcliffe Borough FC.

In 2nd place Mick Collins, Matlock Town FC.

In 3rd place Jonathan Wood , Gainsborough Trinity FC.

Isthmian League award winners


In 1st place Peter Ash, Aylesbury United FC.

In 2nd place Ted Scraggs, Bishop's Stortford FC.

In 3rd place Steve Barker, Hitchin Town FC.

Local Authority award winners


In 1st place, National Award - States of Jersey , Jersey FA.

In 2nd place -Lichfield District Council, Staffordshire FA.

In 3rd place -Gateshead Council, Durham FA.

Level 3 and below category award winners


In 1st place National Award- Tommy Porter , Durham City FC, Durham FA.

In 2nd place- Derek Trafford, Stone Dominoes FC, Staffordshire FA.

In 3rd place- Peter Smith, Watton United FC, Norfolk FA.

Article Tags: