Groundsman of the Year Award Winners

Editorin Football

Groundsman of the Year - Divisional winners announced

The individual divisional winners, as selected by the Playing Surfaces Committee of the Football League, are as follows:-

Nationwide Division 1 - Wolverhampton Wanderers

Nationwide Division 2 - Cheltenham Town

Nationwide Division 3 - Hartlepool United

Each winner receives a crystal trophy and £250.

Given special mention by the Playing Surface Committee were Mike Heather of Cheltenham whose pitch has been nominated every year since the club joined the Football league, and Dave Brown of Hartlepool for the substantial improvement in the Victoria Ground pitch over the last two seasons.

Other clubs on the shortlist were:-

Nationwide Division 1 - Derby County and Leicester City

Nationwide Division 2 - Stockport County and Wycombe Wanderers

Nationwide Division 3 - Oxford United and Rushden and Diamonds

Our congratulations to all concerned.

Article Tags: