IGCEMA Opens Nominations for the 2010 Edwin Budding Award

Press Releasein Industry News

Rapid City, South Dakota, October 12, 2010 - The International Golf Course Equipment Managers Association (IGCEMA) is announcing it will now be accepting nominations for the fourth annual Edwin Budding Award.

Edwin Budding was a pioneer who invented the reel mower in 1830, as well as the adjustable spanner/crescent wrench. Edwin was an engineer who thought "outside the box" and created something for our industry which to this day remains a constant. Where would golf be today without the reel mower? Would we see low heights of cut? Can you imagine rotary greens mowers? While many times the invention of new golf clubs, grasses and irrigation systems seem to get a lot of attention, one thing holds true: if we didn't have the reel mower golf would not be where it is today.

The IGCEMA's Edwin Budding Award recognizes those who have made significant contributions to the golf course equipment industry, including those who have excelled in the business, history, education, design, engineering and maintenance of golf course equipment. The award will be in addition to those known for their contributions to innovations in the turf equipment industry. The award will recognize those who think outside the box and who have dedicated themselves to improving the industry as a whole. The Edwin Budding award will be awarded to someone in the industry who meets the criteria as set forth by the Association and the Award Committee.

The Award Committee is made up of industry leaders, and includes one Class A Member of the IGCEMA. Once nominations are sent in they will be submitted to the committee for review. We would encourage those who wish to nominate someone for this award to be very detailed in describing why you feel this individual should receive this award and what measurable attributes set this individual apart from their colleagues. Nominations should be sent to nominations@igcema.org. You will receive a confirmation e-mail stating that we have received your nomination. The deadline for nominations will be November 26th, 2010, and the winner will be presented the award in Orlando, Florida, USA during the Golf Industry Show. The IGCEMA Board and Officers would like to thank all of our members around the world for their support and dedication to the industry.

Award Sponsor:
Ransomes/Jacobsen - Ipswich, UK

Who Can Nominate?
Anyone in the golf industry may nominate someone for this award. You do not have to be a member of the IGCEMA to do so.

Who Can Win?
Anyone has the opportunity to win the award. No matter where you are in the world your contributions to golf count. You do not need to be a member of the IGCEMA.

Edwin Budding Award Website - http://theedwinbuddingaward.com

Our Previous Winners:
Ed Combest - Retired Lake City Community College Instructor
Eric Kulaas - Equipment Manager, Renaissance Vinoy Golf Resort
Eddie Konrad - Equipment Manager, Ladies Golf Club of Toronto

1. Winner's name engraved on the Edwin Budding Trophy.
2. Handsome keepsake trophy to take home.
3. Airfare and overnight accommodations to attend the GIS in Orlando (February 9-10, 2011) Trip itinerary TBD.

Committee Members:

Chair: David Withers - Managing Director - Ransomes/Jacobsen
Carl Osterhaus - The Toro Company
Garry Carpenter - John Deere Golf and Turf
Stephen Bernhard - Bernhard and Company
Jim Letourneau - Foley United
Steve Spuhler - IGCEMA

The IGCEMA is dedicated to expanding the education, enhancing the professionalism and improving the image of the Golf Course Equipment Manager and Turf Equipment Technician worldwide.

More Information Contact:

Stephen Tucker - IGCEMA

Article Tags:
Industry news