New Keeper of the RIPTA Register

Editorin Industry News



By Robert Laycock

Independent agronomist Robert Laycock became the new "Keeper of the Register" at the second meeting of members of the Register of Independent Professional Turfgrass Agronomists (RIPTA) in January. He will act as contact person for RIPTA during 2003.

RIPTA's web site,, was launched during 2002 and contains information about the Register and its aims. Links to the web sites of members and also to those of some of the associations who support the Register can also be viewed.

Since its inception, the Register has been administered by Jeff Perris, Director of Advisory & Consultancy Services at the Sports Turf Research Institute. Members present at the meeting thanked Jeff for the excellent work he had done in getting the Register off the ground.

The Register of Independent Professional Turfgrass Agronomists currently comprises seventeen agronomists who fulfil specified criteria of independence, experience and academic excellence. They advise sports turf clients of all types in the UK and abroad. Agronomists who fulfil the requirements for membership are encouraged to apply to be added to the list.

The launch of RIPTA in January 2002 was enthusiastically welcomed by the main sporting bodies in the UK and Ireland, including the R&A, Football League, England & Wales Cricket Board, Jockey Club, English Golf Union and The Golfing Union of Ireland.


RIPTA is a list of independent turfgrass agronomists. Using an agronomist whose name appears on the Register gives a sports turf client peace of mind that specified criteria are fulfilled.

The seventeen agronomists on the register are:Alistair Beggs, Emma Beggs, Andy Cole, Eddie Connaughton, John Hacker, Mike Harbridge, Steve Isaac, Gordon Jaaback, Robert Laycock, Tim Lodge , Ian McClements, Stuart Ormondroyd, Jeff Perris, George Shiels, David Stansfield, Neil Squires and Peter Winter.

For further information contact: Robert Laycock, Tel: 01759 318680 or e-mail:

Article Tags:
Industry news